Just like it is a crime to falsely dial 9-1-1, it is also a crime to falsely report a crime in California. It is one thing to be innocently mistaken that a crime is taking, has taken, or is about to take place. In this case, the person reporting the false crime may not be charged because they were misled. However, it is another thing to purposely report a crime that you know for a fact never happened.
There are many reasons a person would want to falsely report a crime, including getting revenge on someone they are mad at, to scare someone or make them feel threatened, to do a prank, or trying to make a profit from another individual because of a fake kidnapping, for instance.
Anyone who falsely reports a crime to the police, the grand jury, a prosecutor, and 9-1-1 operators can be charged with a misdemeanor. If the charge ends up with a conviction, the person will pay up to a $1,000 fine and spend up to 6 months in jail. When deciding what the exact punishment will be, the judge will consider if and how others were affected by the false report, whether they have a prior criminal history, and their intentions behind filing the false report.
As with any situation, each false report will be treated differently. Some are given more leeway than others, depending on the circumstances. All reports of crime are taken seriously to start out, but if it turns out to be a false report, then that is where problems for the person who made the report begin to arise. By investigating the false report, police exhaust their energy, resources, and time when they could have been attending to more serious situations and helping others who really are in need of assistance. A person who purposely delays real emergencies will be punished.
Starting next month, Californians who do not pay their traffic fines have one less thing to worry about: risk losing their license. There is a kind of catch 22 here because, on one hand, it means Californians who do not pay their traffic fines can keep their license and continue to drive. On the other hand, these individuals may feel less inclined to have to pay their traffic fines.
One reason for this change is that suspending licenses has not been helping the state collect money for the unpaid fines. Additionally, lower income individuals who lose their license simply because of unpaid traffic fines risk falling deeper into debt. By losing a license, a person can no longer drive. Think about how that would affect your everyday life, if that was you. You would have to find alternative ways to get to work, run your errands like getting groceries, taking your children to school, visiting people, and more. We rely on our car, driver’s license, and privilege to drive in order to go about each and every day.
Common traffic violations that result in a small fine include parking illegally, such as in a red zone or when the meter is expired, speeding, running a red light, and driving in the carpool lane without a passenger in your car.
Keep in mind that people will still be cited and fined for these traffic violations, they just will not run the risk of losing their license solely for these violations. For more serious violations like DUIs, then the driver will still lose their license.
Car chases in the movies are exciting and cool, but in real life, getting stuck in the middle of one is dangerous, and nerve wracking. What is the protocol for civilians who are suddenly in the middle of a car chase? This is not something driving school or the DMV teaches people. Do you move to the side of the road because you hear sirens coming your way? Will you have time? Will you have the room to do so?
If a driver has the time and room to move over to the side of the road to let the car chase pass, then they should do so. This does not happen often though, so in all other instances, the driver should continue driving in their lane at the same speed they are going. The police will maneuver around the driver. A driver should never make a lane change if the car chase is too close. They do not accurately know how fast the police cars are coming up behind them, and the police cannot predict the driver’s decision to change lanes. It is much easier for the police if drivers continue driving as they were.
As much as a driver may want to, they should never try and intervene in a car chase to be the hero who helped catch the suspect. It is a dangerous situation because not only are there fast moving vehicles, but they also do not know the type of person or persons inside the vehicle. They may be armed with weapons or drunk. You can get yourself and others injured.
Car chases are all too common in California, especially in Los Angeles where it seems like there is a car chase at least every couple of nights. Car chases are generally thought of as high speed chases. However, there are times when the speed is quite slow, yet the police do not seem to take advantage and speed up to cut them off. This is because the police have tactics and protocols that they must consider in the moment to successfully stop and apprehend the suspect without anyone getting hurt. The majority of police chases end successfully, because the police know what they are doing and the civilians let them do their job without intervening.
Being a parent takes an incredible amount of responsibility, including legal responsibility. Until a child turns 18 and becomes a legal adult, their parents are responsible for them in many ways. This includes needing to pay for consequences should their child get into trouble, cause problems, and/or get arrested. The parents can hold their children accountable at home, but the justice system will hold the parents accountable too.
If a child damages other property, such as graffiti’s on the wall, breaks a window, or runs a car into another, the parents will have to cover the financial responsibilities of paying for the damages. The money goes towards the victim or person who owns the damaged property. It is called paying restitution because it compensates for the losses or damages the child caused. The parents may decide to punish their child by withholding allowance or setting a curfew, but from a legal standpoint of paying for the damages, the money will come from the parents.
If a child is arrested, then fees are involved for lawyers and juvenile detention services like food and laundry. Again, this money comes from the parents’ pockets.
One thing that parents would not have to pay for if their child is arrested, is bail or a bail bond. The reason this is not a factor to them, is because youths who are arrested are not given the option to post bail to be released. Instead, after a record is made of the minor’s arrest, the police will usually release them back to the custody of their parents or legal guardians. Alternatively, depending on the situation, the police may send the child to an agency or shelter that will look after them, or put them in juvenile detention. The child and the parents will be given a notice to appear in court to settle the matter. Bail and bail bonds are reserved only for adults.
Raising a child is not easy and there is no perfect solution to doing it. It is hard, and it is a learning experience. You and your family will manage to get through it together. Once they turn 18, they are legally on their own, though as a parent, it will be your natural instinct to always protect them. The good news is that when they turn 18, any records they had as a minor will be sealed, meaning that no one will be able to view or access those records. This clean slate is meant to encourage them for their future and not let adolescent mistakes prevent them from succeeding.
Most people get married when they are adults and are more financially stable. However, there are some people who get married at a younger age, like when they are in college or in their mid-twenties. There are even people who choose to get married when they are in high school, or younger! As shocking as it can be to imagine yourself being married at such a young age, it is not illegal in California.
Most states have a minimum age requirement to get hitched, but California does not. Anyone in California can get married at any age, although anyone under the age of 18 would need to:
- Get parental consent
- Get a court order
- See a pre-marriage counselor
- Have copies of their birth certificate
- Apply for a marriage license with a parent present
- Appear before a judge
One of the main reasons California chose not to enforce a minimum age to get married is because it allows pregnant minors to marry, if they so wish. Needing parental and court consent helps regulate the idea of marriage so that no one is being forced or tricked into an unhealthy and abusive marriage. For example, a man cannot force the teen he got pregnant into marriage unless her parents and the court give their consent. If he is also under 18, he would need parental consent as well. Furthermore, a mother cannot force her pregnant teenage daughter to marry the father of the baby if the girl’s father does not consent. There are multiple points of protections in this manner. However, if all parties are happy with their relationships with each other and it is a healthy relationship between the two minors, they can get married as long as their parents and the court give them permission.
Any man or woman who is at least 18 years of age would not need parental consent to get married.
Some of the hardest years of life are the teenage years, when a person has many influences surrounding them, both good and bad. This is a time when a person is trying to pass school and figure out what they want to do for a career. This is when they rebel, when they do not want to worry about any responsibilities. However, some people’s hardest times are yet to come, and it could be up to you to see it before it actually arrives. The signs can be hard to read but remember, it is always better to act, rather than to ignore it.
Encouraging your loved one to open up about their struggles could be what saves them from getting arrested. In many cases, the person will not tell you that they want help. They may feel embarrassed to seek help, but they hope you take notice and step up. In other cases, they may try and reject your offer to help or even get angry at you for meddling in their life. After some time though, they will calm down, come around, and thank you for sticking by them.
Hope for the best. Standing up and seeking help for your loved one can save them from falling into a worse predicament, like getting arrested. However, even if they are arrested, it is not going to be the end of the world. They will just face a longer and steeper uphill battle.
No matter what, get them the help and support they need.
In an instance where they get arrested, get them a great bail agent. Someone from Norwalk Bail Bond Store will help with the bail process and get them out of police custody sooner, and at a more affordable cost.
If you think your loved one is in trouble, get them the help they deserve, even if they do not ask for it. Seeing loved ones struggle is heartbreaking, and if there is any chance that you can prevent this, take action. You can be the superhero they did not know they needed. If you need a bail bond, Norwalk Bail Bond Store we will be more than happy to help.
Just give us a call at 562-866-0081 or Chat With Us online.
No one likes having to pay taxes. That is money we wish we could keep. We are told our taxes are put to good use, but who really knows exactly where all of our tax money is going? For example, did you know your tax money is being used to keep criminals fed, housed, and clothed in prison? In addition, did you know that it costs more to keep a prisoner alive in California than it is to attend Harvard University for 1 year?
California has 130,000 prisoners, and experts are estimating that within the next year, the cost of housing each prisoner will reach $75,560, a record price tag. In 2005, the cost to keep an inmate housed was half of that.
Prisons in California are overcrowded and over the next few years, at least 10,000 inmates will get an earlier release than originally ordered. Californians voted to allow inmates convicted of certain drug and property crimes to have their penalties reduced and even be released from jail early. Another move to help with the overcrowding in prisons was moving lower-level offenders to county jails instead state prisons.
Although the current prison population will be going down, it does not necessarily mean the cost per prisoner will go down as well. Crime rates are at a point where new convicts will just be taking the place of former prisoners behind bars.
Unfortunately there is not much you can do about getting your tax money allocated towards something else. What you can do is pay attention during the next election and vote to have your voice heard.
We made it through our first big heat wave, so you can rejoice about that. Unfortunately, this is only the beginning and you should brace yourself. You can count on there being more scorching days this summer. Remember to stay extra hydrated by drinking plenty of water and to put on sunblock when you spend any time outside. When you are driving someone in your car, especially your own young children, remember to open windows or turn the AC on. If you have to make a stop, do not leave them in the car alone. Not only is this illegal depending on the child’s age, it is also very dangerous in hot weather.
Vehicles heat up within minutes on hot days. If you think the weather outside is bad, the temperature inside the car is even worse.
If you have a young child with you and you need to make a pit stop, bring them with you. It is illegal to leave a child who is 6 years old or younger unattended in a car unless they are supervised by someone who is at least 12 years old. However, even if your child is old enough to legally be left alone in the vehicle, you need to consider if they feel comfortable being left alone, the safety of the surrounding area, and how hot it is outside.
There are a number of consequences the driver can face for leaving their child unattended in a hot vehicle. These consequences include, but are not limited to, fines, jail time, being inspected by social services for child endangerment, and the loss of the child.
Whether it is over 100 degrees or 70 degrees, think of the safety of your child first. Although you may take a few minutes longer during your pit stop, taking them in with you is the safest and most responsible way to handle the situation.
The world of American sports is electrifying. There is no shortage of sports to appeal to the crowd. There’s football, basketball, golf, swimming, cycling, sailing, and so many more options. If you really know sports, you know that there is always some major sporting event happening. This means that there are plenty of opportunities to try and make the events a little more eventful by placing bets.
There are rules and regulations that Californians must follow when it comes to betting on sporting events, including the following:
- It is legal to place bets.
- It is illegal to take a bet or be a bookie.
- It is illegal for an athlete and a bettor to conspire, where the athlete will intentionally rig or throw a game in order for the bettor to win. People who do this can face prison time and a fine of up to $5,000.
- Refs, umpires, and other in-game officials are not allowed to take bribes. Both the person who offers the bribe and the official can be put into jail and pay a $10,000 fine.
Forms of legal gambling in California include the lottery, gambling on horse races, and going to Indian/ Native American casinos. Other casinos are now allowed in California, but Native American ones are permitted because they are built on sovereign Native American land. Card tables and slot machines can be found in these casinos, and anyone who is of legal age to gamble, is allowed to do so inside these casinos.
A word of caution: although the minimum age to gamble is 18, many Native American casinos actually require patrons to be at least 21 to enter the premises because they serve alcohol.
A parkway refers to the narrow strip of land that occupies the space between sidewalks and the curb. Parkways run parallel to the street and sidewalk and are landscaped, although many do not appear so because people have parked their cars on these areas over the years. In Los Angeles, officials have turned a blind eye to drivers who park their cars on parkways, but that may soon change.
Finding parking is a challenge in any major metropolis, and Los Angeles is no exception. In neighborhoods that are densely populated, residents slowly started to leave their vehicles in these parkway areas.
Realizing they were never getting ticketed or towed, they continued to claim these as regular parking spots, and others in the area started to catch on to this trend. What they did not know was that the city actually agreed to be lenient on these individuals back in 2011, but they never made a formal announcement. Angelenos figured it out for themselves.
A few weeks ago, the Los Angeles transportation committee proposed a law that would make parkway parking illegal once again. In fact, the proposed law even says that standing or stopping on the parkway would also be illegal.
Should the proposed law be approved, the city would first implement a grace period. During this time they would reach out to residents to warn them to stop parking in these locations because starting mid-August, they would begin issuing tickets and citations once again.
Even if the law passes, drivers will still be able to park on their own driveway apron, which is the paved section from the curb up to the driveway as long as their vehicle does not block the street or the sidewalk.